hendersonhouseofcards

Dog-eared four: Before You Die, You Must Read These

The last time I loaned my friend, Alison, a book (well, two), was in 2001. She needed something to read on a flight home, so I loaned (read: gave) her Wally Lamb’s She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True. I enjoyed both books: Undone because I understand the need to lose yourself in order to become, and True because it accompanied me on a vacation. Nine years later, she’s asked me for another recommendation, and while I searched my bookshelves for something to suggest, I realized I couldn’t narrow my list to just one or two books. I also couldn’t narrow my list to books recently released or to YA (even though she asked for a YA title specifically).

Maybe these are my desert-island books, or maybe these are the books pulling me toward a recommendation, or maybe these are the books that I naturally gravitate toward when I’m looking for comfort and not something new.

Because Alison asked me via Twitter (@avesdad, if you want to follow me) to recommend titles, I’m going to limit my explanation of the books to 140 characters (or I’m going to try, because I know some titles require explanations of more than 140 characters).

Read more: http://www.inspecterlit.com/before-you-die-you-must-read-these/

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 841 other subscribers