hendersonhouseofcards

Dog-eared three: On Love

An equilibrium must be obtained between too much and too little concerning love, perhaps the mercurialist (I’ve made that word up; I often make up words) of emotions. Tell someone you love him or her. Hear someone say he or she loves you. Bask.

But beware.

“I love you is the most unoriginal thing one person can say to another,” Jeanette Winterson writes in her novel, Written on the Body. “I love you is always a quotation.”

I think we use the word love when we really mean I enjoy your company and I’m happy when we’re together and I can’t think of a better way of spending my free time than being with you; please feel the same.

Winterson further writes: “Love is Wonderland, isn’t it? Love makes the world go round. Love is blind. All you need is love.”

Lately, or maybe just for the last year, everything seems to come back to Alice and her Wonderland.

Read more: http://www.inspecterlit.com/dog-eared-on-love/

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2011 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 841 other subscribers